On the “1º Congreso Internacional de Traducción Especializada”

July 30, 2006 at 9:17 pm (Uncategorized)

Over the past 3 days, I had the chance of attending the “1º Congreso Internacional de Traducción Especializada”, organized by the “Colegio de Traductores Públicos de la Ciudad de Buenos Aires”. Actually, I had thought that I might feel out of my depht over there. You know, so far, I´ve only passed 3 mid-terms exams in my first year of this course of studies….It was extraordinarily worthwhile though. Mostly, I attended conferences focused on the Scientific-Medical branch, where I felt quite up to standards, and got to realize how immense this field is, when it comes to translation. From Genetics to Biophysics, from Dentistry to Farmacology…. Morever, I had the opportunity to know another wired doctor-translator, Dr. Manuel Talens, a Spaniard one, who stopped seeing patients long ago so as to dedicate full-time to the theoretical aspect of Medince, through translations.(Not quite my case! I´m seeing lots of patients today!) I also attended a few conferences on general translation, which I may have enjoyed less than the ones focused exclusively on Science. Last but not least, seeing Dr. De Luqui Levene, one of my colleges at the Navy Hospital, participating in the documentary on the sinking of the Cruise Manuel Belgrano which the National Geographic produced, did come as a bit of a shock, since I didn´t even know that he had navigated her, back in 1982.

You see, boys and girls, this was an interesting experience which I hope to share with all of you in the meetings to come!!!!

Cheers

María

2 Comments

  1. amelia12 said,

    Hi, my friend.

    Conferences and building social links are absolutely essential in our lives. By the way, I’d like to invite you to read some educational material on TRADOS and MULTITERM here:

    http://blog-de-traduccion.trustedtranslations.com/

    Kind regards,

    Amelia

  2. merrillpate63961 said,

    hi just wanna know where and how can i but some hair rebond solution than going to the parlor. i live in denmark. and what is the best rebond solution Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

Leave a comment